Clinging Sunsets

Words cannot convey

exactly what I’m trying to say…

when in my mind, I see your face

you have something I can never replace

knowing the world’s a better place with you in it

feeling you near even though you’re distant

imagining you so hard you must feel it!

 

Close my eyes

hypnotized

and you’re there in the air

Nodding your head, you deliver

the music that makes me shiver

with your smoky, hooded stare

you’re in my mind; you’re everywhere

 

Patience is a trait I’ve learned

though many times been burned

nothing stops the desire

like sizzling sparks of fire

when I do get the essence returned

 

I see clinging sunsets with whispers of blue

you should feel traces of me calling out to you

the charm has worked before; can you feel it now?

To make sure you know somehow

and to prove my desire is true

 

I know that soon you’ll be coming my way

a little game I like to play:

give a little, take a little; a push and a pull over time

until the day everything will align

It has happened before at least twice

more than a per chance roll of the dice

revelation, obsession, aspiration

feeding the fire of infatuation

 

Suddenly you’re right in front of me!

In the flesh; your indifference, your sooty, sexy glam

can be replaced by someone who understands

how open arms can make everything okay

Everything hooking up and synching the right way

 

Can I do this one more time?

Clicking off my list of the sublime

You are the ultimate to me

don’t know why I didn’t see

what we have in common; our faith is ingrained

we’re both just a little insane

And I’m loving every inch I see

of our rapid-fire sweet destiny

 

 

 

 

